100 Days of Code : A Skill Up Journey !

100 Days of Code : A Skill Up Journey !

A journey which turned my mindset into something better.

ยท

4 min read

Introduction

Hello everyone, I am Srikar - An engineering student, Developer, Podcaster, Writer, and Designer. I am an aspiring full-stack developer and learning the MERN stack currently. Would love to connect with amazing people out there and hope that my blog reaches out to all the people starting their coding journey!

My entry to coding was through HTML, CSS and JS in high school and I left it a few months later and picked it up again in my first year of engineering.

What is the 100 days of code challenge?

#100 days of code is a coding challenge (created by Alex Kallaway) often followed by developers who want to be consistent in their coding regime and learn in public. Some say it's for beginners, but I say every developer could benefit from it as it helps us develop some level of consistency.

You can find the official site and details here - https://www.100daysofcode.com

Get started with your journey if you want to be consistent with your learning and network with co-learners!

My Journey and Technologies I learned

I started by committing to my 100 days of code challenge on 17 August 2022 and finished it on 31 December 2022 ( I know this is more than 100 days ). The thing is just like you can't complete a 1-hour tutorial in an hour, you just cannot complete this in an exact 100-day window especially when you're a uni student. I took a slow pace and completed it before the new year hit!

Day 1 -30

I started by revising my python knowledge and learned a few advanced concepts. I then progressed onto Web development and revised HTML, and CSS ( Resources in the GitHub repository I'll be sharing ) and finally dived into the dark world of Javascript.

Day 31 - 45

I had to learn C again for a few placements going on at my uni. Once done I started with a few basic web dev projects and also learned the backend - made a TODO app with Flask (A micro-framework of python for the backend). Later explored Django cause of the extensive database support.

Day 46-78

Then I started exploring various domains and various libraries in python that I could build things using. Web scraping was pretty interesting and I made a job scraping website with that. Learned much about APIs and used them in many mini projects.

I went on to advanced JavaScript concepts ( Async and es6 ) and finally started React JS and made a movie-searching website (via an API).

I also participated in Hacktober fest and helped a few people get started with Open Source.

Day 79 - 100

In the final stretch, I learned MySQL from Colt steel's course and then explored AWS and Docker concepts. I also made a pong game in python and noted things about a few networking concepts.

You can find the day-to-day log on my Github Repo here - 100 days repo

This was a long and fun journey and I am glad I was able to connect with a lot of new developers and good friends!

Some takeaways and future improvements

I am someone you could call a chronic procrastinator, I wasted a lot of time on unnecessary things during the pandemic and after this realization, the only things that remained with me were my regrets.

I found this article that had the reasons why people like me act so - https://waitbutwhy.com/2013/10/why-procrastinators-procrastinate.html

My advice is to stop wasting time and do the simple things / important things as soon as possible to avoid regrets later on. Regrets are the worst thing that will haunt you and won't let you progress well. So just grind people!

Finally, I would also include that I spent my 100 days in an exploration realm and I would suggest you not do this and deep dive into one particular field so that you can avoid being a jack of many trades and master of at least one!

Thank you for your patience and for making it to the end. You're one of the GOATs ๐Ÿ!

If you want to connect with me, here are my socials - Twitter, LinkedIn, and GitHub.

ย